Alliance for Women in Media Announces 2017 Women Who Lead Honorees

  • Caroline Beasley, CEO, Beasley Broadcast Group
  • Amy Emmerich, Chief Content Officer, Refinery29
  • Kathleen Finch, Chief Programming, Content & Brand Officer, Scripps Networks
  • Susan Swain, co-CEO, C-SPAN
  • Julie Talbott, President, Premiere Networks

“The Alliance for Women in Media has great roots in the American Women in Radio and Television (AWRT), and the Gracies,” says Geraldine “Gerry” Laybourne, respected media entrepreneur and keynote speaker for the event. “I am so honored to be asked to keynote the Women Who Lead luncheon. There is no more important time in our history for women in media to be true leaders and no mission more personally important to me.”

Gerry is perhaps best known for leading the team that brought success to Nickelodeon in the 1980s and 90s, and for her role as co-founder of Oxygen Media. She also served as president of Disney-ABC Cable Networks. In more recent years, she has lent her experience and wisdom as a leader and member of several prominent industry and corporate boards.

 “As part of our commitment to support women in their many roles across the media industry, the Alliance for Women in Media is pleased to showcase the amazing achievements of these female executives and shine a bright light on each of their incredible accomplishments, professional dedication and lasting impact on the industry,” says Sarah Foss, AWM chair and chief product officer, Advertising Management Systems, Imagine Communications. “Women Who Lead provides an opportunity for AWM to recognize progress and advancements across the industry by talented leaders. These leaders also happen to be women—and as we honor them, we hope to empower and encourage all women to strive for success.”

Tickets for the Women Who Lead luncheon are available at $149 for AWM members and $199 for non-members. A special $79 student rate is available for undergraduate students with proof of enrollment. Qualifying students may also apply for a complimentary ticket made possible through Women Who Lead program sponsors, which include Ford, CBS Corporation, Katz Media Group, NCTA, vCreative and WideOrbit.

For more information or to reserve your seat, visit

About the Alliance for Women in Media (AWM): The Alliance for Women in Media connects, recognizes and inspires women across the media industry. AWM is a diverse community – whether type of media, job or global location – that facilitates industry-wide collaboration, education, and innovation. Established in 1951 as American Women in Radio & Television (AWRT), AWM is the longest-established professional association dedicated to advancing women in media and entertainment. AWM harnesses the promise, passion and power of women in all forms of media to empower career development, engage in thought leadership, and drive positive change for our industry and societal progress. 

View original content:

SOURCE Alliance for Women in Media

Related Links

Powered by WPeMatico