AARP Illinois And Crain’s Custom Media Announce Recipients Of [email protected]+ Illinois


“Individuals ages 50 and older make tremendous contributions to their communities. But these trailblazers’ efforts often go unnoticed and unrecognized,” said AARP Illinois State President Rosanna Marquez. “That is why AARP Illinois and Crain have launched [email protected]+ Illinois — to honor those great Illinois disruptors who think outside the box, and go the extra mile to help make life better for all.”

“There’s a lot of focus on ’40 under 40′ and ’20 in their 20’s in today’s culture, which is fantastic. But we all need a reminder that people ages 50 and above remain a driving force in many business, not-for-profit, and cultural sectors,” said Frank Sennett, Director of Custom Media at Crain’s Chicago Business. “Beyond that, folks in the 50+ demographic are increasingly creating great second acts (and beyond) that serve as inspirations to anyone looking for ways to live rich, meaningful lives by pursuing a passion for service and creative expression. We are proud to partner with AARP Illinois in presenting this stellar group of 50 people ages 50+ who are making a big difference in Illinois.”

The 50 @50+ Illinois recipients are role models for current and future generations. As tireless leaders, they embrace growth, create new opportunities, and are always present for their neighbors and their communities. Dedicated individuals across Illinois work each day to improve the lives of others, create stronger communities, and disrupt the idea of aging.

[email protected]+ Illinois honorees were nominated by their peers, and selected by AARP Illinois for their work in the following five categories: Nonprofit, Arts & Culture, Business, Community Building, and Disruption.

DISRUPTORS show us how to embrace opportunity and change the way society looks at getting older.

Jonathan Becker

Executive Director, Senior Services Plus

Mike Belsky

Executive Director, Center for Municipal Finance at the Harris School of the University of Chicago

Sister Rosemary Connelly, RSM

Executive Director, Misericordia /Heart of Mercy

Elizabeth Coulson

Professor and Former State Representative

Deloris Heard

Tutor, Shirley Ryan Ability Lab

Janice Lewis

Volunteer, Chicago Lights

Cecilia McCormick

Senior Advocate Specialist, PLOWS Council on Aging

Dr. Nivine Megahed

President, National-Louis University

Marla Mogul

CEO and Co-Founder, A Night Out

Dr. Brian Moran

Medical Director, Chicago Prostate Foundation

Jennifer Nemec

Founder/Chief Creative Officer, Ideation Studio

Shelley Stern Grach

Director, Civic Engagement/Microsoft

BUSINESS leaders, owners and entrepreneurs make up the next category of these innovators. They’re boosting Illinois’ economic growth while simultaneously giving back to their community.

John P. Bennecke

Managing Director, TPC Tax

Rebecca M.S. Busch

President/CEO of Medical Business Associates

Larry Gilliam

Owner, Larry’s Painting and Remodeling

Jay Goltz

President and Founder, Goltz Group

Michael E. Fisher

Agency Vice President for Community Development, Country Financial

James (Jim) Franczek Jr.

Founding Partner of the Franczek Radelet P.C.

Gregory T. Hinton

Principal, The Gregory Group

Alex Kogan

President, Symbol Training Institute

James J. Radous III

President, UniCarriers America

Kathy Zoeller

President, Mattson Communications

COMMUNITY BUILDERS are the unsung heroes making contributions to communities and improving cities and neighborhoods.

Frances Carter

Volunteer, Warren G. Murray Center

Anne Comeau

Project Manager, EDSP

Kathy Jewett

Volunteer, Easter Seals of DuPage and Fox Valley Region

Art Johnston

LGBTQ Community Activist

Rebecca Kendall

Executive Director, Rockford Health Council

Howard Learner

Executive Director, Environmental Law & Policy Center

Yvette Moyo

Founder, Real Men Cook

Charles L. Reid III

Volunteer, Kiwanis Club of Des Plaines

ARTS & CULTURE honorees are imaginative and creative individuals who touch the lives of others and inspire communities through their expressions in art and culture.

Mick De Giulio

Owner, De Guilio Kitchen Design

Alan King

House Music Pioneer, Chosen Few DJs

Chris Ksoll

Executive Producer, Dog by Dog

Gary Moore

Anchor, News Channel 25

Bill Passalacqua

Festival Promoter

Eleva Singleton


Rosario Vargas

Founder and Vice President, Aguijón Theater

Joyce Renee Walker


Leo Zarko


NONPROFIT sector leaders are those who work to help those in need by inspiring individuals, organizations, and communities, to give back.

John Bouman

President, Sargent Shriver National Center for Poverty Law

Stacey Brohard

Executive Director, The Good Samaritan Inn

Greg Cameron

Executive Director, Joffrey Ballet

Paula Evans

Founder, Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics

Anne Ladky

Former Executive of Women’s Employed

Missy Lavender

Founder, Women’s Health Foundation

Jill McWilliams

Volunteer Consultant, Executive Services Corp

Ernie Mahaffey

Community Entrepreneur

Sylvia Puente

Executive Director, The Latino Policy Forum

Susan Sinderson

Vice President/ Embrace Living

Cynthia K. Wade

Founder & Managing Director/ Do

View original content:


Related Links

Powered by WPeMatico